Styling in Task Instructions

May 25, 2009 at 3:25 am 2 comments

This is really exciting!! I knew that this can be done in LiveCycle 7 but never tried it till now in LiveCycle ES. Ok.. let me describe what it is.

What it is?

I found out that we can add styling to the Task Instructions that apear in Workspace. This means that we can have Red font, Bold statuses/instructions based on the task description that we put in Assign Task step of the orchestration.

Why you need it?

Let’s say for example, A Task is deadlined and you wish to put task status/something else in Instructions field which can stand out form the rest of the text. Having something like ‘Deadlined’ status in red with other instructions can be a BIG step forward for someone who works on workspace interface everyday.

I’ve also noticed that the Task Instructions field on TaskManagerEndpoint also ‘likes’ the styling. This means that the Cards or Grid view of Start Process section will also show pretty colors and styling if needed.

Let me show you what I could do with styling in Task Instructions.

Snapshots 1: To-Do list view of a user with styling on Task Instructions (configured in Task Instructions of Assign Task operation)

ToDo Screen with Styling

ToDo Screen with Styling

Snapshot 2: Card view with styling on Task Instructions (configured at Task Manager Endpoint page in adminui)

StartProcess view with Styling

StartProcess view with Styling

Styling examples:

Style used in Snapshot 1:

<font color=”#FF0000″><b>Deadlined.</b></font> {$/process_data/@taskInstructionsString$}

Style used in Snapshot 2:

<font color=”#FF0000″><b>Leave Application</b></font> <font color=”#9932CC”><b><i>Test</i></b></font> Desc

Tip:

  1. As the Workspace is a flex application I decided to try the Hex code for the font colors and it did work nicely.
  2. It is a good idea to show some metadata in task instructions, so user can find out the Task without opening it. Imaging what would happen if you have to find John Smith’s application by opening Task’s one after another. I would put applicant name and/or some other identifier in Task Instruction so it is easy to find!!
  3. I have a Status variable in my process and I’m applying style to that only so the remaining text in Task Instruction is kept in black. I think this is ‘good enough’ to indicate what’s the status rather than having too much red/orange colors in that view.

Misc: This is just a small example of styling. I don’t know what else will work or will not work but I think we can do really cool things with this much to help out the user who work on Workspace everyday. I’m pretty sure that I’ll see few smiling faces in my next Demo & Deployment of what I’m currently working on.

Entry filed under: LiveCycle ES, Workspace. Tags: , , .

RichText tricks for TextField in Designer Form Pre-populate via Render service (delayed)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amal Elaine  |  May 25, 2009 at 4:08 am

    This is really nice. Thanks for this information Parth!

    Elaine

    Reply
  • 2. Justin Klei  |  June 5, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Good info Parth. I knew you could do this with Form Manager in LiveCycle 7 but never tried it with Workspace and LiveCycle ES.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Tweets

Recent Posts

Feeds

The fine print!!

The views on this blog are my own and don’t necessarily represent my employer's views, strategies or opinions.

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

